Chocolate Chip Icecream Cake

I first saw this recipe whilst watching Anna Olson’s show Sugar.  As soon as I saw it I knew it was meant for me.  It looked so amazing. 

So many weeks ago I decided this was an absolute must for Father’s Day.  Now I think about it a cheesecake would have been more Hubby’s style – but there was something about this chocolate laden cake that said “Make it for Father’s Day and show off”!!!

I have written before about cooking disasters and challenges I have had.  Well, this wasn’t one of them.  I have to say it was really fun to make and truly satisfying when putting it all together.  However, I have one confession to make:

I didn’t actually make the ice cream…

I thought hard about it, I almost did.  However, I had never made ice cream before (I plan too – Hubby bought me a recipe book…a hint from him I think).  I just thought for a special day one didn’t want to try something TOO new.  Plus I was sharing this cake with Hubby’s brother and his family as well as my in-laws.  Mind you, I made sure I bought some gorgeous good quality cookies and cream ice cream – so there were no complaints.

I may have mentioned my oven has given me grief in the past.  I have come to terms with the fact that when I set the dial to 180C it will heat up to 220C.  We now have an understanding.  I have stopped complaining about it (by purchasing an oven thermometer) and it will continue to overheat on the understanding that I hover over it and watch it closely.

Therefore my two cake-sized cookies turned out just as they should.  Hoorah!!!  I was so excited about unveiling this cake – but I had to wait until Father’s Day (only 2 days).  Hubby and I went out a bought a much-needed new camera (yay)!!!  Here are the pictures:

 

 

 

I have had quite a few requests for this cake, which is lovely.  It’s so satisfying baking for people.  I mean, I get pleasure from doing the work – but unveilling it to family and friends is very much worth the effort.  Giving is so much more worth the effort.

You may be ineterested to know that the biscuit was crunchy and chewy and had softened slightly once removed from the freezer.  But I did discover a small slice is just enough.  It’s very sweet and very naughty… Oh well…it was a special day.

Happy Father’s Day Hubby!  You’re an amazing Dad and you are much loved my me and our number one son.

Delly

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bells
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 13:46:08

    Spectacular! It’s a genius idea. Giant cookies, lashings of icecream. It’s inspired and I reckon it was the perfect party piece!

    Good work on understanding the oven. It’s painful though to have to make such adjustments.

    Reply

  2. 2paw
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 16:14:00

    Oh wow, a giant ice-cream biscuit sandwich!! I am glad your oven is behaving!! You should have a go at making a semi-freddo, much easier than ice-cream!!

    Reply

  3. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 16:56:09

    What a brilliant idea! The best cake for a cookie enthusiast like my mum! :D

    Reply

  4. David Hilyard
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 08:42:24

    I’m not a baker (even when I HAVE an oven), but so much of this was identifiable. The comments about immediately identifying a Must Try recipe. Wanting to show off a bit in the kitchen. The excitement about “unveiling” it. I really like how you always put your cooking into a personal, emotional context.

    What a great-looking cake!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

