Donna Hay: Molten Chocolate Chunk Brownie

Bells and I were recently asked to review Donna Hay’s “Molten Chocolate Chunk Brownie” packet mix.  We were very surprised to be asked as well as a little bit pleased.  I’ve never received a little media pack before with the product in question plus some information.

We had both often talked about whether we would every review a product on our blog and we always came to the decision that we wouldn’t.  However, this box was sent to us with no strings attached, and we thought it might be fun to give an honest review.

Many of our friends would know that Bells and I are pretty scathing when it comes to packet mixes of any kind.  I’ve had some friend apologize for using a cake mix when I’m around.  It’s so silly really.  My moratorium on cake mixes is really for myself only – not for my friends.  I am always just glad someone has baked and been in the kitchen.  One should not force their food snobbery on others (all the time…).

We had friends over last Sunday afternoon and I thought it was the perfect opportunity to bake these brownies and have them assessed by my guests.

 

 

They were really easy to make (as most packet mixes are).  There were only a few steps between opening the packet, throwing it into a bowl and mixing it all together.  Donna suggests we serve these warm.  I managed to serve them up cool and they were still well-received (in fact my 7yo was still eating them 2 days later – he loved them).

My guests enjoyed the brownies very much.  They were crisp on the outside and squishy on the inside with bursts of chunky chocolate squares scattered through the cakey goodness.  I am happy to report that they were genuinely surprised when I mentioned that they were packet brownies.  They thought they were made from scratch.  A compliment to Donna, I believe.

 

 

I didn’t really try them myself.  I’m not really into chocolate on chocolate.  It’s a bit too much for me (yes, there is such a thing as too much chocolate).  However, my family and guinea pigs, I mean – friends, assure me that they were delicious and everything a good brownie should be.

Would I make them again?  No.

Why?  Because I can make brownies myself without the help of a packet mix.

However!!!  As a backup in your cupboard, an emergency treat for guests or perhaps you just love packet mixes – then YES!  These brownies would be great for your pantry.  They don’t seem to have that typical “packet mix” flavour which I feel is usually easily detectable.

So all in all – they get the thumbs up from me.  Word on the street is that they are available in supermarkets – I’m yet to see them though.  I believe they retail at $7.99.

Happy Weekend Baking!

Delly

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bells
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 21:40:55

    i think you summed up my view on packet mixes well – because it’s so similar to yours – a good packet mix is valuable and useful. I have tried the CWA packet mix for scones and it really is a winner. There’s a time and a place and it sounds like these are worth it!

    Reply

  2. amy
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 01:11:08

    I never used mixes when I used to bake regularly. I’ve tried a couple since going gluten free and they’re useful enough for when I don’t feel like messing with the special flours myself. I mostly use them for pancakes, because I can make better GF chocolate cupcakes myself from scratch (I successfully converted our favorite quick recipe; I’m still proud of that!). I tried a GF cake mix recently and it was just too sweet.

    I kind of always felt the same way though… there’s nothing else with *other* people using mixes, but I didn’t choose to. And I like having total control over the quality of my ingredients.

    Reply

  3. RoseRed
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 07:49:01

    I’m not a big fan of packet mixes either, because it’s really not that hard to make a cake from scratch. But I also come from a position of having a well-stocked baking pantry. I guess if I wasn’t a regular baker, then packet mixes make it easy. But for $8 it’d want to be as good as made from scratch!

    Reply

  4. David Hilyard
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 15:54:30

    People sending you stuff. For free. How cool is that!

    Shows that the DH marketing folks are scanning the blogosphere for venues. Perhaps if you write about bouef en daube they’ll send airline tix for Provence …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

