And so it starts…

Welcome to my first ever blogpost.  I’m Delly and food and I have been close friends for as long as I can remember.  From being able to sense any biscuit ad on TV from any room in the house (and race to watch it) to reading Women’s Weekly cookbook as entertainment as a child – food and I have walked the same path for many, many years.

My sister and I (some of you may know Bells from Bellsknits) both received Maeve O’Meara’s Food Safari cookbook recently and immediately wanted to cook almost everything in it.  So I gingerly suggested we start a blog about our cooking adventures.  In typical Bells style, it was decided in seconds and the blog was created.

So what to start with…hmmm… I feel I lean more towards the sweet these days.  So I thought I would kick off with Plum Jam Biscuits from Croatia.  These delightful little morsels of sugary, buttery goodness are so good.

The recipe calls for a Croatian jam called Provdl.  After a little searching I found it my local markets with relative ease.  Don’t bother looking in any of the big supermarket chains – a waste of precious cooking time.  The jam is beautiful and thick and won’t melt and escape from the biscuit during cooking.  Don’t be tempted to go for the regular jam you use on your toast,  they won’t turn out nearly as pretty.

Before I give some tips on the recipe, this is how they looked after I made them.

These biscuits have 300ml of cream and 250g butter and only 2 tablespoons of vanilla sugar.  So they are not overly sweet, but they do have an almost light, shortbread consistency to them.  I used my hands to mix all the ingredients together.  I’d probably used a hand mixer next time.  It was very messy, although it felt lovely.  This mixture had to be rolled out.  I think I made the biscuits a little thick.  The photograph doesn’t really show it too well – but the mixture needs to be only about 1/2 cm thick.  My biscuits came out slightly doughy out of the oven.  But they were lovely and golden on the outside, so i didn’t want them to be over-cooked.  As they cooled, once being rolled in castor sugar, they firmed up and did not disappoint me.

They end up looking like baby croissants – but better!  The little splodge of jam on the inside was such a gorgeous surprise when bitten into.  I do think these biscuits looked sensational and also give the impression that you have been slaving away in the kitchen.  When in fact, they were quite easy.  The only problem was, it was hard to resist eating them all before I was able to present them to my family.  They are so easy to gobble up when no one is looking.  However, I managed to hold myself back and there were plenty to show off to my husband and 6yo boy.

Because I made them a little thick, they yielded about 20.  Next time, there will be so many more because I will roll out the mixture more thinly.

A friend of mine is hosting a High Tea for her 16yo in a few months.  I plan to make them again for that.  Don’t you think these delicate little buttery morsels (well they will be next time), will look great next to a cup of tea??

Well, that it’s from me this time.  Bells will no doubt add her creative flair to this blog soon.  What will she cook?  I’m looking to dive into the world of Jamabalaya!!

Delly

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bellsknits
    May 21, 2010 @ 10:32:28

    i had totally forgotten about you and the biscuit commercials. Brilliant opening image!

    These look fabulous. How exotic to start with something from Croatia!

    Happy blogging!

    Reply

  2. Tessa Flood
    May 21, 2010 @ 11:01:10

    Oh how yummy looking they are Delly. Well done. I may just have to invite myself to your friends 16yr old’s High Tea party just so I can taste those biscuits…. do you think your friend would mind!!!!
    heh hehh

    xoxox
    T

    Reply

  3. David Hilyard
    May 21, 2010 @ 11:20:54

    Adele, these look sensational. I so want one with the cuppa I made before sitting down to read your 1st entry!

    And I’m looking forward to more …

    Reply

  4. Rose Red
    May 21, 2010 @ 11:40:38

    Yum!! I do love a biscuit! These look and sound fantastic. I suppose I shall have to buy this book now too!!

    Reply

  5. Mum
    May 21, 2010 @ 11:42:59

    What a surprise Adele, now I have two blogs to read. I was remembering our conversation a couple of weeks ago when you told me you love to cook because you just love food. You used to always be in the kitchen with me and you always loved to go grocery shopping. I still think of that sometimes when I am walking around the supermarket. Congratulations and the biscuits look wonderful.

    Reply

  6. Hubby
    May 21, 2010 @ 12:44:29

    Hey darling, I’m so proud of your first entry. You did well. I must agree, these biscuits were great! More please. Hubby.

    Reply

  7. actinglikeamama
    May 21, 2010 @ 14:04:31

    They look delicious! I love the idea of jam in the middle as a bit of a surprise!

    So looking forward to this blog and all the yummy food you will be creating in it – this blog is bookmarked!

    PS – I love your tea cup and saucer – the blue flowers, just lovely 🙂

    Reply

    • Delly
      May 21, 2010 @ 14:19:47

      Thanks for your lovely comments. The cup and saucer were a gift from Bells. The flower is the Nigella Flower I believe. Which is so nice considering we are both big fans of Nigella Lawson.

      Reply

  8. Beck
    May 21, 2010 @ 14:25:44

    You don’t need to convince me at the best of times that any bikkies are yummy, but the more I read, the more my mouth watered. Thank you, you have taken me on a journey beyond just scoffing them down because they’re great!!

    Reply

  9. drkknits
    May 21, 2010 @ 17:12:18

    oh i how love this book and this show. i have discovered my favourites in it already, and i am very excited to have both of you give us your tips and opinions! welcome to blogland delly, great opening post!

    Reply

  10. Susan L
    May 23, 2010 @ 00:00:34

    these look and sound delicious. i can’t wait to see what you cook us next.

    Reply

  11. Gae
    May 23, 2010 @ 16:20:34

    There are a couple of brands of Povidl (or Powidl) available, and a couple of different qualities but my German born husband prefers the Podravka brand (it is Croatian), and it is 85% fruit.

    My dear MIL in Hamburg used to make it using Angelina plums (known as Zwetschgen) and it has to be cooked down to a thick puree ( and It SPITS ) and traditionally has to be at least slighty ‘caught’ on the bottom of the pan. Easier to buy it, which I can do at my local IGA supermarket. Podravka also make a wonderful Raspberry Jam, and there is a Belgian brand (Garden Fresh) who make a Sour Cherry Jam to DIE for. Over the years I have preferred these jams mainly because SUGAR is not the first ingredient on the list…….. which is wicked because my father worked for Cottee’s.

    In some of the supermarkets that stock these jams, they are often not displayed with the ordinary jams, but are off in the ‘continental’ or ‘speciality’ section. I buy ’em when I see ’em, because they have a following, but they are not always in stock – presumably in a container somewhere on the high seas. Happy hunting !!

    Gae, in Callala Bay

    Reply

  12. 2paw
    May 23, 2010 @ 21:29:21

    I’m looking forward to your Safari with Bells!!! Your biscuits look delicious!!

    Reply

  13. Jodi
    May 23, 2010 @ 22:51:56

    Delly, how wonderful it is to meet you! These look delish, although I probably would have cooked the devil out of them myself. None of my pastry is very pretty because I like it all just shy of a burnt offering. But yours look like they tasted marvelous. I have my teapot on order, so I’ll have to pair a nice cuppa with something from my Bourke Street Bakery cookbook that I happened across and just had to have because it was Australian. Now it looks like I’m going to have to add Food Safari to my Amazon wish list. Good luck with the blog!

    Reply

  14. Jodi
    May 23, 2010 @ 22:56:20

    P.S. My sisters still make fun of me because my favorite “shows” when I was little were the commercials and the five o’clock news. I lost interest when the actual programming came on. And what a sweet comment from your mom! You’re so lucky she’s tech savvy and can share in your blogging fun.

    Reply

  15. Heather
    May 24, 2010 @ 11:27:49

    Adele they look scrumptious are you planning to make more?

    Reply

  16. missfee
    May 30, 2010 @ 17:57:31

    Thanks so much Delly – my sock victim LOVES anything plum and especially this jam – I am so making these biscuts.

    Welcome to the land of blogs and thank you, and bells, so much for doing this what a great idea!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

