USA: Jambalaya & Corn Bread

I had never heard of Jambalaya until I started watching Star Trek – Deep Space Nine (yes I love all things Star Trek).  The Captain on the show would often refer to this particular dish with such enthusiasm and passion I knew that when I saw it in Food Safari I just had to make it.

It sounded so exoctic and soulful – it truly didn’t disappoint.  I love the idea of cooking with different meats in the one dish – and having chorizo in the dish is always a sure way of getting me to cook the recipe.

So I started out with these glorious colours:

Chopped spanish onion, celery and red capsicum

This recipe asks for parboiled (converted rice).  I investigated this a little and was not satisfied with my research.  I ended up using long-grain rice which was just fine if you were to serve the dish up as soon as it was ready.  But I found that the leftovers became gluggy and none too attractive.  The flavour was gorgeous but the texture was disappointing.

This dish was a pleasure to make.  The smokiness of the chorizo permeated the dish, giving it a depth and warmth that soothed the soul.  The satification of making something so wholesome, in one pot, was truly worth the effort.

See the plump pieces of chorizo poking through the saucy mix of chicken, veges and fresh tomato – yum!

Accompanying the Jambalaya was the Corn Bread Muffins.  These were so easy to make, although I was a little sceptical of putting in creamed corn.  But I did – and they were fabulous!!!  So golden, moist and a little crunchy – due to the tiny grains of Polenta scattered through the mixture.  The sweetness of the muffin blended beautifully with the smokiness of the Jambalaya.  The muffins also froze really well, because of course I made too many.

Thanks to everyone who read and posted comments on my very first blog post.  It was an exciting few days for Bells and I as we eagerly read through people’s comments.  You are all so very kind and helpful with your comments.  It’s great that people feel free to offer their insights into the recipe or some of the ingredients.  We do appreciate it – it’s how we learn and increase our knowledge of all this food.

My next post will be a lovely lesson on how NOT to whip egg whites.

Til then….  Delly

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bellsknits
    May 27, 2010 @ 14:25:39

    really you could put chorizo in anything – it’s so good!

    i always thought jambalya had okra in it – obviously not!

    Those corn muffins are going to be my go-to for soups now, I think. A great idea!

    Reply

  2. Rose Red
    May 27, 2010 @ 16:01:35

    Mmmm, I’m with Bells – chorizo pretty much improves any recipe!! (well, the savoury ones anyway!). This looks and sounds delicious, as do the corn muffins! (I’d be sceptical of creamed corn too – I love corn, but creamed corn always strikes me as a bit icky)

    Reply

  3. drkknits
    May 27, 2010 @ 17:55:13

    oh that looks good!! corn bread muffins! what a great idea! and you cant go past chorizo can you? and thank god it doesnt have okra in it, although if it did i would leave it out, i think it would go mushy. what would you do different with the rice next time do you think?

    Reply

  4. Jodi
    May 28, 2010 @ 14:34:36

    Sounds fabulous and looks so yummy. A few southern girl asides though: True jambalaya would have andouille sausage, not chorizo. And we southerners can spot a northern transplant a mile away. They’re the ones who put sugar in their cornbread instead of their iced tea. 😉 Seriously…it’s kind of a hangup. REAL cornbread is not sweetened…the better so soak up the “pot likker” from your collard greens (or turnip greens, or mustard greens, or poke salad, or whatever green leafy thing we’ve cooked the devil out of with a ham hock).

    We do love a good sweet corn muffin with spicy things, but we make sure we label them as corn MUFFINS, not corn bread. Clear as mud? I think it’s easier if you grow up thinking it makes perfect sense. 😉 Can’t wait for your next installment. This is FUN!

    P.S. While cornbread/muffins may provide a little gray area, under no circumstances is it ever o.k. to put sugar in your grits. That is strictly for yankees who mistake it for cream of wheat. 😀

    Reply

    • bellsknits
      May 29, 2010 @ 09:30:49

      Jodi your input is fabulous! Ta muchly! If I ever make it to the deep south, we are going to do a lot of eating.

      Reply

      • Jodi
        May 31, 2010 @ 01:07:48

        I am IN!! I’ve always wanted to do a B&B tour of the Southeastern Coast. Savannah, Georgia, and Charleston, SouthCarolina in particular. So much history, beautiful buildings and gardens and FOOD!!! Glorious FOOD!! 🙂

  5. terbyknits
    May 29, 2010 @ 11:52:12

    My mom used brown rice when she made jambalaya. Her trick was to cook the dry rice a bit in the pan with some oil before she added the water. Okra never goes in this dish – it does go in gumbo. It’s actually good stuff, but I grew up eating it (my mom is a southerner, and she lived for a while in New Orleans, home of some darn good gumbo.) Reminds me I should get her gumbo recipe and get reminders on how to make pecan pralines.

    (Love this!)

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins & Jambalaya Revisited « Delly and Bells Go on a Food Safari

Leave a Reply

