A Lesson in Whipping…

A lovely friend of mine gave me a heap of fresh and juicy lemons.  I don’t know about you but I can’t get enough lemons (note to self: buy a lemon tree then all problems will be solved!!).

So I decided to make some lemon butter (which turned out beautiful).  I made a jar for my hubby and son (much happiness there) and a jar for my work collegue.  All lovely!

The weather in Sydney has been getting cooler.  For me, as soon as the temperature drops I am usually gasping for lots of cups of tea and mounds of pudding of all descriptions.  So of course, with lots of lemons, I just had to make Stephanie Alexander’s Lemon Delicious Pudding.

I had made the batter in the food processor, all was going well.  Hubby and son were upstairs playing and I was enjoying a moment of cooking bliss – busy mixing, grating, licking etc.  I had 3 lovely egg whites ready to be whipped into a frenzy.  As I stood there whipping away, I gazed across my kitchen bench and to my horror I saw a little creamy yellow worm making it’s way of of a cut lemon.  Eeek!  Without thinking I reached for a tissue to squish it and in the process my electric beater whizzed out of control and sent half-beaten egg white all over my kitchen (and I mean ALL OVER)!!!  Every nook and cranny were covered.  I froze and desperately yelled for assistance.

Hubby and son raced down stairs to see the kitchen and I covered in egg white.  Hubby’s first response was: Don’t move!! I’ll get the camera!!

After that – the clean up began.  Everyone pitched in.  My son was the “splodge identifier” and hubby and I just started wiping and wiping and wiping.  Fun fun fun!!

We had a good laugh.  It frustrated me that I had wasted 3 perfectly good egg whites – but it could have been worse.  I managed to find 3 more eggs and finish off the pudding.

And – I learnt a valuable lesson.  Do not let anything distract you when your creating a food masterpiece.  Focus!!

Til next time…Delly

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rose Red
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 13:09:49

    mmmm lemon delicious pudding. mmmm lemon butter.
    GAH worm and egg whites everywhere!!

    (we need to plant a lemon tree too!)

    Reply

  2. drk
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 13:33:06

    that pudding looks totally worth the hassle! what a nightmare, but what a great story! oh, and i love lemon butter on hot scones above just about anything in this world. just sayin’……

    Reply

  3. 2paw
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 13:52:48

    Yum, that Delicious looks delicious!! I always have my camera at hand in case a blog-worthy photo opportunity presents itself: welcome to the blogosphere!!!
    I have a big bag of lemons too, which I’ve just been squeezing some juice into my tea. I have an order for lemony tarts though.

    Reply

  4. bellsknits
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 14:38:37

    i love that hubby’s first instinct was to take a photo! Brilliant. I’m glad he captured it. You look horrified.

    Splodge identification – do you reckon that’s an employment skill?

    Reply

  5. David Hilyard
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 18:20:35

    Great story, Adele. And Paul has the real documentary photographer’s instinct! Glad you liked the LDP, after all taht effort. Stephanie’s lemon things are often good. She has found the rich mix of lemon acid and sugar. So many LDP recipes are TOO SWEET! imho.

    So, what sort of lemon tree will you get. Can you find room for two – a Eureka AND a Meyer? Would extend lemon season, and give you a variety of flavours. Perhaps the common property needs some enhancement.

    Reply

  6. Bel Shepherd
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 18:45:47

    Love it Adele. Your face is priceless. xoxo

    Reply

  7. Jodi
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 01:32:47

    Do you know how difficult it is to be a lemon lover married to a lemon hater? Constant frustration and he NEVER wants to share the lemon icebox pie at our favorite BBQ joint. Hmph!

    But I don’t have a clue what lemon butter is. Is it like lemon curd? Sounds wonderful whatever it is. 🙂

    Reply

    • Adele
      Jun 02, 2010 @ 09:53:08

      Hi Jodi
      Yes Lemon Butter is just like Lemon Curd. It’s boggles my brain to understand how one could be a lemon hater.

      My sympathies.

      Delly

      Reply

  8. GeekKnitter
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 12:31:13

    Your husband is a rare and wonderful man. I highly recommend that you keep him!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

