S’Mores: Anna Olson

I tend to change my mind a bit when it comes to my favourite Chef.  For a time it was Nigella Lawson (I love how much she loves her food – I can relate to that – I still love her actually).  I liked Donna Hay  for a little while until I saw her do some nasty thing with chicken at the Sydney Good Food and Wine Show, the list goes on…  I can fall in and out of love very easily (not counting my two fav boys).

Not so long ago I discovered a lady who has been a round for a while but I have just started to digging into her work – Anna Olson .  I find her show Sugar  is fantastic for someone like me who loves baking.  Anna is a little dry in her presentation, but she is excellent in the way she gives the viewer tips and techniques to better baking.  You can see a little of her work here

Hubby and I were watching her show one night (poor guy has to put up with the odd cooking show) and she made something that had us both mesmerized.  S’Mores !  When watching her make these we knew we had to make them (especially when on the same night S’Mores were mentioned on NCIS – it was meant to be).

We decided, as a family, we would make S’Mores together.  I’m not very good at sharing my kitchen space – however, the end result was worth getting us all in there.  Our son Will took some of the photo’s (as well as a few from Hubby).  It was good fun as they were able to take some “action” shots.  S’Mores are a layered slice of biscuits (Anna mentions Graham crackers – I used Digestive Biscuits which were a perfect substitute).

 

You need to make a paste of melted butter, brown sugar, vanilla extract and biscuit crumbs… this mixture alone was so yummy.  I could have eaten a big splodge of it on top of vanilla ice-cream there and then.

The digestive biscuits were round and the Graham Crackers are square.  So I had to cut some of the biscuits to make a flat layer of biscuits in the square biscuit tin.

 

Assembling this sweet was quite a relaxing experience.  All three of us worked together and a certain little man made sure none of the ingredients were poisonous by constantly sampling the marshmallows and chocolate.  So all was well.  Here it is just out of the oven:

 

These S’mores were amazing.  So delicious and not nearly as sweet as you might have imagined.  The brown sugar/biscuit paste gathers the biscuits, marshmallows and chocolate together to make the most delightful combination.  The biscuits really do offset the sweetness of the marshmallows and chocolate to make a slice that is so very more’ish!!

 

 

I can’t recommend these little towers of gorgeousness enough.  They will be my new “go to” recipe when needing to take a plate to gatherings.  I plan to make them for my son’s Kindergarten class for the last day of term next week.  I’m sure a big dose of sugar won’t make any big impact on their school day…

And now I just have to get my hands on Anna’s book “Sugar”.

Delly

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bellsknits
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 21:54:05

    oh no, no impact at all, all that sugar. Hilarious. Mrs P will thank you so much when all the kindies are bouncing off the walls.

    I’m amazed these aren’t sickeningly sweet. They sound like they would be but apparently not. Any chance you want to make them when we visit RoseRed?

    And I LOVE that Willem took these photos. Go dude!

    Reply

  2. 2paw
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 21:54:20

    I love NCIS so anything mentioned on that show must be good!! They look yummy!! Glad to know you have a Food Taster!!!

    Reply

  3. Jodi
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 06:45:09

    YUM!!! I’m a s’mores fanatic, so am gung ho for this recipe. Maybe I’ll make these my “Congratulations! You fit back into your fat pants!” reward. 😉

    Reply

  4. Trackback: A Slow Start to Test Knitting « Bellsknits
  5. amy
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 22:55:22

    Oh my goodness, I’m reeling–s’mores without graham crackers? Pink marshmallows? And that paste stuff? Heavens. These are *not* my childhood s’mores. 🙂

    Those required no oven. You toast a marshmallow (the big kind, not the mini ones, obviously!), then sandwich it between two square graham crackers, with a square of Hershey’s chocolate. The marshmallow melts the chocolate, and there you go!

    Reply

    • Delly
      Jun 28, 2010 @ 07:56:43

      I guess everyone interprets a recipe differently. That’s what makes cooking so much fun. Although I appreciate it must be hard to see a recipe that obviously means a lot to you changed a bit.

      As to the Graham crackers – well, we just don’t have them, so we have to improvise. I used the pink and white marshmallows for me. I’m a pink lover and I thought they looked good in this dish.

      Each to their own I say.

      Reply

  6. Island Mom
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 14:31:51

    For the American version, a campfire is required as it is the de-facto camp favorite. As Amy suggests, use the big ‘shmellows and toast over the open fire. Your version, though, is so pretty! I never thought to serve ‘smores on a plate — what a great way to bring the pleasures of camping indoors!

    Reply

    • Delly
      Jun 28, 2010 @ 16:18:05

      Thanks for your comment Island Mom! I have googles S’Mores and have more of an idea of the campfire S’More. they look great. Anna’s S’Mores are great, as you say, to bring them indoors.

      Reply

  7. drkknits
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 16:01:49

    Ive never heard of these before but they look very scrummy! Like rocky road biscuits! Absolutely yes, you should make them for afternoon tea at rosereds!

    Reply

  8. Susan L
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 16:13:06

    totally yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

