Bundts: A Retrospective

Some of you may recall from my last post that our camera broke just as I was about to plate up a lovely dish of pork knuckle and dumplings.  It was a sad time in the life of a young blogger but joy is at hand.  Hubby has said we will hopefully fix the issue this week.

So what does one write about when there is no fresh photo’s to speak of (which is a shame because last night I cooked the most amazing Osso Bucco Milanese and currently have Cassoulet in the oven).  Well, it came to me in the night that I could let you into my little world of Bundt tins.

I bought my first bundt tin a few years ago.  The family and I were at a market in Queensland and there was a lady selling what looked like the contents of her house.  There I noticed a gorgeous, antique Bundt tin made in West Germany.  It was love at first sight.  I never realised what had been missing in my kitchen until that moment.  So I quickly snapped up my purchase and felt quite smug at my find.

A dear friend of mine was having a birthday (Hi Liz!) so I decided to give the tin a whirl. 

You might also get a better idea of the shape from this photo (minus the marshmallows).

I think around this time I became a bit bundt obsessed.  Thankfully, as with my magazine addiction, I have control over my need for more bundt tins.  Buying them brand new is fun and thankfully Hubby has given me 2 as gifts.  Mind you, I would love to find more antique bundt tins.  The older they are the better seasoned they are.  I will keep searching.

My son turned 6 earlier this year – here is a photo of his Castle (bundt) cake.

And here is my rose bundt tin.  A moist cake dusted with icing sugar is one of life’s little pleasures.

Bundt tins are so wonderful.  They give people the impression that you have worked really hard.  However, it’s really the tin that does all the clever work.  Just make sure you spray oil or use melted butter to grease the tin.  I usually dust a little plain flour over the oil as well to ensure no sticking occurs.

This post has been a little indulgent – but I do love Bundts!  Promise to return to fresh cooking, hopefully with a new camera in tow, next time.

Delly

PS.  Apolgies for the quality of some of photo’s in this post – some were taken on my mobile phone.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bells
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 16:36:01

    you really are the bundt queen aren’t you? I need you to find a reason to make me a castle cake. That’s what’s missing from my life.

    Reply

  2. Michelle Hines
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 16:49:48

    Im so loving reading your blog each time you post…..You are turning into quite the chef adele, i think you have missed your calling! well done….
    just wanted to let you know im reading!!!!!

    Reply

    • Delly
      Aug 22, 2010 @ 17:01:46

      Wow thanks Michelle. I didn’t know you read it. Thanks for your lovely comments and for letting me know you read it.

      Reply

  3. 2paw
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 21:17:04

    Oh, your Bundt tins are wonderful. I have looked at them but never thought I might use one, but your cakes look fabulous!!!

    Reply

  4. drkknits
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 08:37:40

    these are marvellous creations, both the tins and the cakes! love love love the castle cake, complete with marshmallows! and the rose is just gorgeous, i could almost taste it from here!

    Reply

  5. David Hilyard
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 13:20:30

    Great tins! And the cakes that come out of them, as well.

    And cassoulet in the oven? I hope it went well. I love it at this time of year, but there is absolutely NO point in making it for one …

    Reply

  6. Ailsa
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 11:15:37

    Have you seen ‘my big fat greek wedding’? They have this meet the in-laws thing, the anglo in-laws show up, just the two of them, and are faced with hundreds of Greek relatives in full regalia on the front lawn. Spits, trays of baklava, piles of bread and olives – picnic tables, music – you get the idea.

    The inlaws bring a bundt. It is lost on the greeks.

    I love your vintage bundt tin, I hope you do find more and get the collection moving..

    Reply

    • Delly
      Aug 31, 2010 @ 11:24:09

      Hi Ailsa – I’m going to have to go back and check out that scene again. I love bundt spotting in movies and tv shows!
      Delly

      Reply

Leave a Reply

