Just the words…

Like any addict, I start to get a bit twitchy if I haven’t had a chance to spend time with my addiction.  I only work Monday to Wednesday each week (well, paid work that is).  Thursday and Friday are blissfully mine.  After I send my son off to Kindy (his first year of school), I dreamily return to my car and in a carefree manner I contemplate how I will spend the next 6 hours of peace and serenity…

Any parents out there would know that time away from the kids, especially during the working week, doesn’t really read like that.  What normally happens is a I drop my boy off at school (usually early – because I am annoyingly on time) and then there is a mad dash back to the car to commence the amazingly long “to do” list I have compiled for myself for my 2 “carefree” days off.

Grocery shopping is first up usually.  I write a list of food/cleaning items.  My meals are usually broken down into days of the week.  The night before I often sit down with my chosen cook books for that week (I tend to share the love around each book) and assign meals to each evening.  Sounds a bit anal huh!  Sure!  But it keeps me from making many return trips to the shops throughout the week.

After the shopping is done, I rush home, unpack and try to schedule in time with my two girlfriends who I very much want to spend time with (I get a bit twitchy with them too if I don’t see them on a regular basis).

Would you believe that the school day is often over by then!!  Where does the time go (I neglected to mention squeezing in some housework as well).

Then comes Fridays – ahhh Fridays.  This is the day that I try to set aside to bake and create!!  I often have many other tasks I would like to do on a Friday – but I always make time for cooking.  Last Friday I must have spent at least half and hour trying to decide what to bake.  I knew there was something in my lovely books just waiting for me to discover it – but it took me a while.

Granny Smith apples are plentiful at the moment and I had a heap of them.  Why not bake an Apple Pie?  Fabulous!!!  Hmmm…. not so fabulous after all. 

The apples were perfect.  After peeling and cutting them I slowly simmered them until they were soft, and then I added some cinnamon, sugar and some frozen mixed berries.  Lovely!!

Whilst all this was happening I made the pastry.  You know, sometimes all common sense and everything I have learnt about basic baking just decides to take off for a while and leave me to struggle.  When making a good short crust pastry you must use cold butter!!!  I know that!!  But earlier, whilst I was still trying to decide what cooking took my fancy, I had put some butter on the bench to soften (just in case I needed it).  Big mistake.  I used that for the pastry – which turned out just fine.  However, it was soooo soft.  I refrigerated it, as per instructions.  However after the half hour it was not at all firm.  And without even thinking I rolled it out between two pieces of baking paper and soon discovered that sticky soft pastry does not like to release itself from baking paper.  It prefers to be scraped off.  Not good!  Not good at all!

I was so annoyed at having wasted time and having not thought it through enough.  So I tossed the pastry in the bin (I know I could have saved the pastry by popping it back in the fridge – but I only thought about that later on reflection).  What to do now…Crumble.  All was saved and I made a lovely Crumble which was enjoyed that evening with a huge dollop of whipped cream.

 All was well with the world again.

So you may wonder where my photo’s are today of this Crumble masterpiece.  Well…still no camera!!  For various reasons we haven’t bought one yet.  Must make sure this happens very soon.

Delly

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rose Red
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 14:35:47

    oh, I like apple crumble better than apple pie anyway! (but don’t get me wrong, I’d never say no to apple pie!)

    Reply

  2. 2paw
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 18:27:13

    Oh no, you poor thing, I love that you make your own pastry though. My mum and I were discussing the pastry we make on the phone last night!!
    Crumble is so delicious though I love a good crumble.
    In the H2G2(the book) someone said ‘Time is an illusion, Lunchtime doubly so’ and it’s true. When I am waiting time can drag. but when I am doing something I like, time does fly!!

    Reply

  3. David Hilyard
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 19:06:42

    A good save! We all have a brain fart in the kitchen from time to time …

    Reply

  4. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 21:13:47

    Mmm apple desserts are my weakness! And I feel your twitchiness when I don’t get to bake! 😛

    Reply

  5. Hubby
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 21:32:34

    The apple crumble tasted great! I am constantly reminded by friends how lucky I am that I am spoilt with lovely cooking. I must agree. Your love is benefiting your love. We’ll get a camera soon and I do recognise the amount of stuff you do for us on those so-called two days off work. Love you heaps. Hubby

    Reply

  6. Tessa Flood
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 19:16:52

    Would have loved to have seen the Apple Crumble! GET A NEW CAMERA DELLY!

    Reply

  7. Bells
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 06:56:52

    i personally have been really glad you’ve been trying to keep your Fridays to yourself a bit for some home time to do the things you love. It’s a smart move!

    And I think you need to have another go at pastry ASAP with cold butter to restore your confidence in it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

