Hollandaise Sauce – the easy way

Sometimes, cheats work. A good cheat is worth sharing and this is one I learned from fellow foodie Tammi Jonas. I’d heard about Tammi’s simple hollandaise sauce and a few months ago while visiting got to see just how fast and easy it was. Fifteen minutes. That’s all it took. And a microwave.

Yes, really.

I’ve never made Hollandaise sauce before. I’ve reserved it for brunches out where someone else could do all that hard work. Do you have dishes like that? Dishes you only order out because it’s the kind of thing you’d never make at home? Hollandaise over eggs was one of those dishes for me.

It’s all very simple and you can read the details on Tammi’s post here. It’s got all the right ingredients, eggs, butter (A LOT OF BUTTER!), lemon and tammi adds garlic and basil to hers. The morning I made it, I had no basil. But when I’m feeling up to 200g of butter again some time I’ll include it.

Over poached eggs, with ham and wilted spinach, it was gorgeous. A sunny Spring weekend morning breakfast.

And really, the 200g of butter isn’t such a sin because this makes a good half jug full of sauce and you don’t need to drown your plate. You just need to drizzle it. After that you need to resist dipping toast into the jug long after you’ve finished your breakfast but it’s so hard! That lemony, garlicky, butter tang is silky and exquisite.

Later in the day, I had a little more over blanched asparagus spears. Wonderful.

So if you’ve shied away from Hollandaise sauce because it’s supposed to be a huge production of a sauce, go and try Tammi’s version. It’s a life changer.

Now I just can’t wait til I have my own chickens soon and I can make it with garden fresh eggs!

Bells

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. actinglikeamama
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 19:26:54

    Yum! I have only once attempted to make holladaise at home and then gave up due to the effort and the shock at how very innapropriate it is for my arteries! So it had become a dish I only, like you, ate out but perhaps I should give it another whirl?

    Reply

  2. lawandshoes
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 19:37:21

    Do you remember that episode of Frasier, Bells? this one? http://www.frasieronline.co.uk/episodeguide/season5/ep15.htm

    It was about Eggs Benedict and I love it to this day.

    Niles: Now I remember ordering this; it’s the breakfast I always
    have after a night of passion.
    Lilith: Eggs Benedict? That’s very rich.
    Niles: I only have it once a year.

    Reply

  3. Bel Shepherd
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 21:07:26

    For some reason the link isn’t working for me 😦

    Reply

  4. Bel shepherd
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 21:32:42

    Hmm, please ignore me, it seems I lost my senses. It is working fine now.

    Reply

  5. Tammi
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 16:07:09

    Lovely, Bells. 🙂 so glad I’ve turned you onto the joys of a simple, cheating, delicious hollandaise! And thanks for the link love. 😉 xo

    Reply

  6. alivicwil
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 16:18:43

    I shall have to try it!

    I’m terrible; I buy hollandaise in a jar… I know; I’m ashamed. My ex’s sister was a chef; I remember her telling me once, “Hollandaise is easy; just separate twelve eggs…” and it was at that point that I stopped listening…

    Reply

  7. Delly
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 12:54:20

    Mmm…butter…butter makes all things good.

    This looks fabulous – love especially the picture of the asparagus. Beautiful.

    I’ll add it to the list.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

