India: Gujararti Potatoes

I think I have mentioned before how Hubby and I are not BIG chilli fans.  I have often felt I am missing out on something wonderful.  Recently, I ate an amazing curry at Bells house made by her very clever and generous husband.  This awoke in me a desire to explore the Indian cuisine more and also try my hardest to bring some chilli into our home.

So I headed off to my local Indian Supermarket.  I love walking into these stores. The smells call to me and send my imagination wild with all the amazing culinary possibilities.  I filled my trolley with loads of very well-priced spices, curry leaves and paneer.  I also stood in front of the chilli powder section and chose, what I thought, was the regular, run of the mill chilli.  When I arrived at the cash register the lovely man behind the counter suggested I choose another chilli powder as I had chosen the hottest chilli type ever!!  He said he wouldn’t even go near the stuff.  I am very grateful to this lovely man who offered to assist me with any other queries I may have.

So I started off small.  I decided it was time to cook something from my Food Safari cookbook (which, you may recall, was the original premise for this blog).  I made Gujarati Potatoes .  I’m not sure if I have mentioned this before, but I struggle with making good side dishes that go with simple dishes like sausages or steak.  I’m not sure why I have trouble with this – but somehow I always find myself creatively stunted when it comes to accompanying dishes.  Do you?  I know Bells does – perhaps it’s just us.

Anyway…back to the spuds.  They were just divine and such an exciting side dish to the simple chop.  Very easy to make (which you will see from the video on the link).  Hubby loved them and they look so pretty too!

Hubby and I have had a love affair with goat ever since we lived in Africa a few years back.  Goat pilau was a special dish to share on special occasions with friends and we often recount these times with fondness.  So recently we visited some shops in Auburn and found a butcher selling goat.  Hubby got quite excited and we jumped for joy at the thought of making goat curry.  We snapped it up and headed home ready to make this dish (well, I made it – Hubby cheered from the sidelines).

Now I got a little heavy-handed with the chilli on this one.  I thought I was being conservative, but as a chilli virgin I got a bit carried away.  The dish itself was splendid.  The mix of spices were delicious and blended well.  However, I think I will leave out the chilli next time.  Hubby was a trooper and did his best to eat as much as he could.  He even ate more than me (and I’m more tolerant of chilli than he).  Our lips were tingling and much water and yogurt were had.  But we ploughed through and vowed the rid the house of chilli and absolutely make the dish again.  This is how it looked – very innocent, I’m sure you would agree.

 

Anyway – you live and learn.  These experiences have taught me a thing or two and with the purchase of an Indian Cookbook or two – my spice awakening will continue.

So tell me your thoughts on chilli dear Reader.  And can you recommend a good Indian Cookbook??

“til next time…

delly

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David Hilyard
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 12:42:49

    Fantastic to find pepole who look at goat and don’t go “Oh, Yuk! No way”.

    Reply

  2. Bells
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 12:50:56

    We ate goat this weekend too! I love the stuff. Possibly more than lamb and that’s saying something. I will make those potatoes! I’ve found Indian really good for side dishes. It’s opened my eyes a bit. We did a great cauliflower one with the goat that was all turmeric and mustard seeds and yoghurt. Really good.

    Don’t get rid of the chilli powder! Give it to me! Or better still, just use a tiny amount – like 1/4 of a teaspoon could give you just the hint of warmth you need! We had chilli powder in the dishes you ate when you visited and you managed those fine!

    Reply

    • Delly
      Oct 20, 2010 @ 13:18:29

      That’s true enough Bells. I won’t throw it out. I used it in Belinda Jefferies dish and it was lovely a warm without the heat.

      Reply

  3. 2paw
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 21:39:51

    We always ate goat, or kid, at Christmas because my aunt has an angora farm!! I agree, curries don’t have to be hot to be good, but too much chilli overpowers the taste of all the ingredients. I am glad you didn’t throw it away.
    I love all the accompaniments in Indian food, the best part I think!!
    I had a little chuckle about ‘local Indian supermarket’, chefs are always saying to visit your local whatever supermarket, and we are lucky to have a generic Asian one, let alone any other kind.

    Reply

  4. Rose Red
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 04:16:19

    I am not a chili fan either. Over the years, I have built up my tolerance a bit, but not much. And I never cook with it. But I’m ok with that!

    Reply

  5. vivzilla
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 13:27:11

    I think I am a bit of a wuss when it comes to chilli, but Bret LOVES it. He has minimal sense of smell which messes up his tastebuds so chilli is one of a few things he can taste and identify as a flavour.

    I have found chilli is really good in creamy dishes. I made this tortellini pasta bake that had a bechemel sauce thing. They recipe put in 1/4 teaspoon of chilli. It doesn’t make the dish spicy as such, more that it stops the cream from becoming really heavy tasting

    Reply

Leave a Reply

