Coconut Cardamom Burfi

What, I hear you asking, is a burfi? Until I made these I had no idea either, except for some vague notion of Indian desserts being very, very sweet.

I was right. They are also fantastically delicious little balls of sweet, nutty pleasure.

burfi

Wonderfully, they are very simple and quick to make. I made them in about 15 minutes while visiting my friend Vivzilla and learning to make Okonomiyaki (which will be posted about separately).

The recipe and accompanying video can be found here. You’ve gotta love a dessert that has a mere four ingredients, one of those being Sweetened Condensed Milk. Along with the nuts and egg it’s all warmed up on the stove, rolled into bite sized balls, rolled in coconut and cooled.

It’s as simple as that. 

burfi

It’s also impossible to not gorge yourself on them.

I think these may well become my go-to dessert for Indian meals. They’re perfect. Another great recipe from the Food Safari book!

Bells

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Delly
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 10:27:05

    They look fantastic!!! I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t able to stop at only a few. I’ll make sure I have people to share them with before I make them.

    Reply

  2. 2paw
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 11:46:58

    Oh yum and they are a dessert I can eat too!!! I think I may have had these at an Indian Restaurant in town.

    Reply

  3. Rose Red
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 20:20:49

    mmmmm, condensed milk – you can’t go wrong with these by the sounds of things! yum.

    Reply

  4. Leonie
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 19:14:55

    they look and sound wonderful, what a find!

    Reply

  5. vivzilla
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 19:42:07

    I can confirm these were delicious

    Reply

  6. drkknits
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 05:52:31

    condensed milk and coconut? hello, im so there! these look fantastic!

    Reply

  7. tagesgeldkonto
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 17:15:28

    Wonderful blog! I truly love how it? s easy on my eyes as well as the data are well written. I am wondering how I can be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which need to do the trick! Have a nice day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

