Christmas: Gingerbread House

Every year my family and I carol at the local shopping mall for The Salvation Army.  It’s a wonderful experience and helps bring on the festive season.  We enjoy singing the old carols (and some new ones) and it’s so nice to see shoppers walking past smiling at the old tunes and singing along.

Another wonderful way of getting into the Christmas season is the food.  Oh the food!!  I rememeber hours of discussion last year with Bells about our Christmas menu.  We must have spent most of Christmas Day in the kitchen – it was great!  This year I’ll be with Hubby’s family and the menu may not be quite as complicated and planned – but it will be lovely just the same.

Have you ever made a Gingerbread House for Christmas?  I did it a few years ago and quickly discovered the joy of putting the house together and smothering it in lollies.  What fun!  My girlfriend Liz and I decided to make them together this year at a friend’s church (Hi Mel!)  Liz had a bad experience with Gingerbread House making a few year’s back – she was hoping to redeem herself (she did!).

I must admit now that these houses came from a pre-prepared pack with the royal icing in a little container and the lollies were supplied.

Little packets of Happiness

 

With you all as my witness, I vow to make these from scratch next year.  Another friend of mine makes these houses for her girl’s teachers.  She shamed me…I will do better next year.

Anyway – enough of the confessions.  Liz and I had a great time putting these together.  There must have been around 100 women all doing this very same thing (and the odd bloke).

Lots of ladies hard at work.

 

Putting the walls and roof together

 

My house

 

Liz's House

 

 

I think in the hussle and bustle of the Christmas season we can become so overwhelmed by shopping and last minute plans.  I try and find ways to bring the season closer to home and enjoy this time of the year.  Little things like making a Gingerbread House with a close friend can remind you of how we should spend this special time of the year.

I do hope each of you enjoy your Christmas time and any holidays you may have.  Thanks to each of you for coming to visit our blog.  I know our posts have been eratic at times – life gets in the way sometimes.  I hope Bells and I will keep cooking and keep blogging in 2011 and beyond.

Merry Christmas to each of you.

Delly

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bells
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 20:25:49

    ooh lovely! It looks like so much fun. If you commit to making one from scratch next year then so will I!

    Reply

  2. Bel Shepherd
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 21:06:56

    That is the cutest gingerbread house! Well done! xoxo

    Reply

  3. Rose Red
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 21:14:07

    I’ve never had a gingerbread house (I think I’d probably eat the lollies before they even make it onto the house!). But it looks like a lot of fun!

    Reply

  4. actinglikeamama
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 14:32:01

    ohh these seem to be such the craze this year! (Or blogging has opened my world a little it more….) I too want to make one, so if you and bells do it, then so will I!

    PS – When do you plan to eat it? You will have to let us know how it tastes.

    Can’t wait to see what you both have in store for us next year!!!

    Reply

    • Delly
      Dec 17, 2010 @ 07:30:39

      Hi. We plan on eating it on Christmas Day. Willem will share it with his cousins. Hopefully it will taste great.

      Glad to hear you want to make one too. We all will next year!

      Reply

  5. Lara
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 06:51:44

    Merry Christmas! And a Happy New Year 🙂

    Reply

  6. Gae
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 17:41:14

    So far as the Rugrats are concerned the gingerbread is just there to hold the smarties and stuff. So far have made eighteen of the blighters.
    Started when first grandchild was 18 months old. Tradition (made up on the spot!) decrees that youngest person present is give free reign with a wooden spoon for some Whelan the Wrecker type action. Since the second pair of grandchildren arrived, it has been two a year. Cooperative effort – I make and bake the gingerbread ‘modules’, he does the technical stuff — assembling the panels, and then we go berserk with the icing tube and the lollies – smarties, freckles, mini jubes (if available). Thinly sliced licorice allsorts make love ‘roof tiles’.

    The latest one bit the dust this afternoon, after the Christmas Eve family lunch.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all,

    Gae, in Callala Bay

    Reply

Leave a Reply

