Kenwood: Vanilla Cheesecake

 

Just last week we welcomed a new family member to our household.  Paul and I have been discussing it for a long while…always wondering when was the best time to add to our family.  Sometimes I think there is never a “best time”.  Sometimes, you just have to “do it”!!

So here she is – name still to be decided.

So Bells and I have decided she must be named.  I am toying with something matronly like Beryl or Patricia.  But I’m still deciding.  Perhaps our readers have a suggestion?  Any thoughts readers?

So naturally I have used my lovely new mixer already.  Paul’s birthday was a few weeks ago and we were in Cairns for it.  So I had to buy him a cake from the store.  Not my preferred option – but I promised I would make him something when we got home.

My new mixer is a dream.  No doubt many of you have one already and are already convinced of its brilliance.  I decided to make a baked Vanilla Cheesecake.  Here it is – just out of the oven!

And now it’s beautifully dressed.
And sliced.
Ingredients:
225g digestive biscuits
75g butter
450g cream cheese
1Tbsp (15ml) cornflour
1Tsp (5ml) vanilla essence
3 eggs
150g castor sugar
225 ml double cream
fresh fruit
Method:
Preheat oven to 180C / 350F/ Gas 4.  Oil a 23cm (9 inch) spring-form cake tin and line the base with greaseproof paper.  Crush the biscuits into crumbs and mix through the melted butter.  Transfer to the prepared tin and press down over the base to form and even layer.
In the mixer, mix together the cheese, cornflour, vanilla essence, eggs and sugar.  Add the double cream and mix until smooth.  Pour into the tin and bake for 30 minutes.
Switch off the oven and leave the cheesecake inside to cool very slowly.  (If not done properly – the cheesecake will split on top).  Chill until required and dress with fruit of your choice.
================================
So as Bells said, “I’m sure you’ll be very happy together”.  My kitchen certainly feels more complete and I am so thankful to have a chance to go further with my baking.  Oh imagine the fun I’m going to have with my son’s birthday cake in a few months.  Oh the joy!!!
Word on the street is that my dear mixer will soon have a cousin at a certain Miss Bells house anytime now.
Delly
PS.  I apolgize for the strange layout for this post.  WordPress doesn’t seem to be behaving itself tonight.
12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bells
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 20:19:48

    i’ve been consumed with envy since Beryl/Patricia/whatever arrived. It won’t be long. It really won’t! I believe DrK just got a new addition to her kitchen too. I feel left out!

    Reply

  2. 2paw
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 20:22:30

    Congratulations on your new addition!! It looks as if it has a metal bowl?? My erstwhile Kenwood had a plastic one and it was just no good for whisking egg-whites and I always thought it wasn’t perfectly clean, well not as clean as meta.
    Your cheesecake looks so delicious!!! I often rush and then mine splits on top, you have shown great patience!!

    Reply

    • Delly
      Feb 05, 2011 @ 20:24:42

      Thanks 2Paw. It was really only on Bells advice (having split a cheesecake only recently) that stopped me from grabbing it out of the oven in haste. I left it and went for a hair appointment. So it forced me to leave it alone. A good decision all round really. yes – a metal bowl it is. Lovely!

      Reply

  3. Island Mom
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 02:24:06

    Congrats! How exciting! I would recommend naming it for my old 1954 edition of ‘The Alice B. Toklas Cook Book’ but I know that name probably just won’t work for your family as I get images of Little Alice in the mixing bowl~

    Reply

    • Bells
      Feb 06, 2011 @ 05:56:32

      oh that is very funny! I’ve long meant to get a copy of the Alice B Toklas book – but I think you’re right if we called an appliance Alice a certain little person would get a bit confused!

      Reply

  4. RoseRed
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 06:48:47

    A stand mixer is just the best thing for baking ever! Especially for pavlova. If I could only keep one kitchen appliance it would definitely be my kitchenaid (and my electric jug. ok, I know that’s two, but it’s all hypothetical!)

    I think a good solid no-nonsense name is desirable for your new addition. I am going to suggest a name which means nothing to you (but will explain). Miss Punton. Miss Punton was my 2nd class teacher, and also the principal of the infants school. She was, at the time, in her 40s I suppose, although to child me she seemed much older. Definitely a no-nonsense “old school” (no pun intended) teacher. She has a sister, also Miss Punton, who was matron at the hospital. Also no-nonsense. Perhaps you and Bells could both have Miss Punton mixers! (or you might have had a similar teacher you wish to commemorate!)

    Reply

  5. RoseRed
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 06:50:13

    Oh, also meant to say, the cheesecake looks great!

    Reply

  6. Gae
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 17:02:04

    My Kenwood came with a glass bowl, but that WAS back in 1972. Because I was so used to the old Sunbeam Mixmaster I allowed myself the luxury of a second bowl – which is plastic. The glass bowl is cherished (break it and you are dead meat!) and mainly used for egg whites. We had to wait several years before we were able to obtain a dough hook for it, and when we did get it it was not satisfactory – so Ernst got cracking in his workshop, and between measurements from the purchased dough hook, and measurements from the K beater, managed to make a very good dough hook, which we used for many years until Kenwood brought out a better designed one. But I have kept the ‘home made’ one!!
    Do you think the Kenwood might answer to “Marjorie”?

    Gae, in Callala Bay

    Reply

  7. chocolatesuze
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 02:29:26

    i would name your mixer ken… or barbie… hehe your cheese cake looks delish!

    Reply

  8. David Hilyard
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 12:44:59

    The Kenwood? You’re not taking the Kenwood! I’ve just shampooed the dough hook!

    Your 1st paragraph made me think you had gone all Hendrickson family on us. But no.

    I agree with the comment above – Ken is the obvious name, but Barbie is a related, great choice. “Barb, knock us out a sponge, would you, love?”

    And the cheesecake looks yummy! Those of us without ovens are envious …

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Donna Hay: Hot Cross Buns « Delly and Bells Go on a Food Safari
  10. Dianah
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 17:48:39

    I just discovered your blog and love it! Kenwood Major is a fab investment. My mum’s is almost 30 years old and it’s still working fine 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

