Blueberry Cornmeal Muffins & Jambalaya Revisited

I am quickly developing a love of all things cornmeal/polenta.  I love its gorgeous golden colour, the lovely sand-like grains and the superb crunchiness that comes after cooking.  Fabulous!

 I recently made Nigella Lawson’s Blueberry Cornmeal muffins.  Alas, as I type this I am in Port Macquarie at a course (shouldn’t I be listening to the course…nah!), so I didn’t lug my copy of Nigella’s cookbook “Kitchen” all the way here.  So I can’t type up the recipe.  If you would like it, then leave a comment and I send it to you.  OR you could buy the cookbook – absolutely worth the money!

 

This recipe was so simple to throw together.  I love the fact it had vegetable oil instead of softened butter.  I don’t know about you, but making sure I have softened butter is always a nuisance when the baking impulse comes upon you.  I quick zap in the microwave of hardened butter can have mixed results.  So not having to think ahead is a good start I believe.

Fresh blueberries can be quite expensive here in Sydney.  So I bought frozen mixed berries and they worked a treat.  However, they did make the mixture a little blue’ish/red’ish.  I found this didn’t matter too much.

These muffins would be great for breakfast, morning tea …. actually, they would be great anytime.  Once my family and I had feasted on a few of them, I wrapped the remaining muffins individually in cling film and froze them.  They defrost beautifully and hubby and I took them to work.

Back in the early days of this blog I cooked a gorgeous meal called Jambalaya  which didn’t turn out so well due to the fact that I didn’t use par-boiled rice.  I’m not sure I even knew what par-boiled rice was and whether I could even get it in this country.  Well, I found some recently in my local Indian Supermarket.  I knew this meant I just had to try this wonderful, earthy dish again.  Of course I chose a 35degree day to do so.  I couldn’t help myself.  I find at times I become consumed with a particular recipe and regardless of the weather I give it a go.

So this dish turned out so much better this time.  The different rice changed it from a gluggy mess to a light, fluffy dish with a nutty flavour.  Amazing.  It was totally worth using the exact ingredients this time.  I do tend to improvise at times when cooking.  But there are times when it’s not a good idea – this was one of them. 

You can see from the photo that I made the cornmeal muffins as well.  Can’t get enough of these little guys!

Delly

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bells
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 08:35:57

    i’ve seen the par boiled rice in indian shops before and to be honest I sneered at it, wondering what kind of person needs to buy their rice par-boiled. I stand corrected! I see now it has a point!

    And I have polenta at home now ready to make more muffins. You’ve inspired me.

    Reply

  2. 2paw
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 08:51:22

    I may have sneered at the par-boiled rice too. Can you just par-boil it yourself??? You sound awfully Nigella-y with your polenta description. I should give these a go, they look so yummy. Muffins/cup cake are just so handy because they can be frozen. I like the reddish purply colour, in fact I’d be disappointed if they were plain white/yellow!! Hope your course gets more exciting anon.

    Reply

    • Delly
      Feb 22, 2011 @ 08:54:09

      Hi 2paw. I actually organised the course and now that everyone has turned up most of my job is done. The course runs itself. Mmm…muffins. I hope we get some for morning tea.

      Reply

    • Bells
      Feb 22, 2011 @ 09:00:43

      Cindy you’re so right – I think my sister has been devouring her Nigella books lately. It’s showing up in her writing!

      Reply

  3. RoseRed
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 09:42:54

    I have never heard of par-boiled rice! Interesting!

    I almost always soften/melt my butter in the microwave. I don’t think it makes much difference to the finished product. It’s good enough for me anyway!

    I wish I had a bigger freezer, to keep things like muffins in. Although to be honest, they rarely last long enough here for me to have to freeze them anyway. But it would be nice to have some there…

    Reply

  4. Nancy Lauber
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 00:54:21

    Your blog(s) are wonderful! I read them faithfully and happily follow your family’s progress. Love hearing about Alice and even about the chickens!

    Would love your Blueberry Cornmeal Muffin recipe. And best of luck getting “odd” ingredients. I can sympathize, except that the ingredients you find easily are not always so easy to find here in Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A!

    Nancy

    Reply

  5. Nancy Lauber
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 00:56:25

    Did I forget to leave my email address? I didn’t notice if it was included in the caption to my post. Anyhow, it IS included here.

    Nancy

    Reply

  6. Hubby
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 11:52:34

    Hi darling. I love blueberries so the bluebery muffins were great. The jambalaya was indeed nutty and better than last time. The par-boiled rice made the difference. The cornmeal muffins were good but not my favourite.

    You are a good cook and I’m blessed to have you play in the kitchen! Love Hubby

    Reply

  7. David Hilyard
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 05:57:44

    I have to say I, too, am guilty as charged re par-boiled rice sneering. Looks like I’ll have to re-think those odd prejudices. And they were so comforting …

    Your cooking, as ever, looks munchable!

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Nigella Lawson: Lemon Polenta Cake « Delly and Bells Go on a Food Safari

Leave a comment