Nigella Lawson: Lemon Polenta Cake

So is it THAT obvious how big a fan I am of Nigella Lawson?  I guess it is considering this is yet another of her delightful recipes from her latest cookbook Kitchen.

As mentioned in my previous post my current love is polenta.  I was flicking though Nigella’s book and found her Lemon Polenta Cake.  It pushed all my buttons.  Thankfully I had a great excuse  – guests for supper.

It’s a bit strange making a cake that deliberately sinks in the middle.  When making a regular cake this is a big no-no usually.  However, with this lovely, moist cake it’s just what you want.  After the cake has come out of the oven you drizzle over a lemony syrup of lemon juice and icing sugar.  It soaks through and gives the cake a huge bang of lemon flavour.

My Hubby’s work has a morning tea roster and every so often he needs to bring in something to share.  So of course I love an opportunity to bake for his work mates.  We were scheduled for last week and both of us clean forgot!  He turned up with nothing.  I never forget baking opportunities – so I felt bad.  Hopefully I have redeemed myself as I sent the remainders of this cake in this morning.  I believe it was enjoyed.  Phew!

In my last post I wasn’t able to add the recipe for the Blueberry and Cornmeal muffins.  As I am home now I can now present it to you.

Ingredients:

150g plain flour

100g cornmeal (polenta)

2tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp bicarb

150g castor sugar

125ml vegetable oil

125ml buttermilk

1 egg

100g blueberries

Preheat the oven to 200C and line the muffin tray with papers.

In a large bowl, mix the flour, cornmeal, baking powder, bicarb and sugar.  In a measuring jug, pour in oil and buttermilk and whisk in the egg.  Stir in the oil mixture into the bowl of dry ingredients – remember lumpiness is a good thing with muffin mixture.  Fold in half the blueberries (I used frozen berries – it worked fine).

Divide the muffins between each muffin case (about 2 thirds full).  Dot a few blueberries on each muffin and pop them in the oven for 15 – 20 minutes.  Cool them on a rack and enjoy.

Enjoy your weekend everyone.  Any weekend cooking planned?   I have already made 2 cheesecakes and plan on making some biscuits for my boy to take to school next week.  I’m tired already…but I love it.

Delly

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 2paw
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 20:33:24

    Oh lemon cake is my favourite and so often the polenta cakes have orange, so this one is doubly nice.
    I have planned no cooking I am doing cooking for meals that tempt me and that’s it. I might make some currant scones though.

    Reply

  2. Bells
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 20:41:50

    i’ve really gotta get a copy of Kitchen.

    Lemon polenta cake sounds exquisite. I request that next time I visit.

    Me, I’m planning a lamb tagine for Sunday night and possibly a zucchini cake, to deal with the endless zucchinis in the garden.

    Reply

  3. RoseRed
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 14:53:53

    Mmmm, I do love a lemony cake. I shall have to procure myself some polenta and give it a whirl.

    Reply

  4. drkknits
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 11:31:24

    they make a lemon polenta bread at one of the cafes here on campus and it never ceases to amaze me how polenta can transform into such a wonderful moist creation. this looks fantastic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

