A Nigella Encounter

Up until today somewhere in my mind I seemed to be under the illusion that my love affair with Nigella Lawson was a private one between myself, Bells and Nigella herself (although she wasn’t aware of it).  I knew that perhaps a few other people read her books and perhaps some of them even watched a show of hers or two – but really, I was under the impression that it was just me – Nigella was all mine – not to be shared.

Well, that bubble well and truly burst today as I waited in line to catch a glimpse of her at her book signing at David Jones in the city (Sydney).  I discovered yesterday that she was going to be in town today.  Oh so close!  What to do…what to do…  Thankfully I have 2 wonderful bosses who were kind enough not to object to me taking a day off to see the object of my cooking affections.  As my boss Bill said…”What’s not to like about Nigella” – he understood me (although perhaps on a whole different level).

So here I am waiting in line 2 hours before she was due to arrive (I’m pretty sure I looked like this the whole time).

Only 2 hours to go!!!

 

Can you believe there were other’s in the VERY LONG line that wanted to see her as much as me??  Eeek!  The only thing missing from this very exciting event was my beloved sister Bells wasn’t with me.  I sent her the above photo on my phone titled “Me waiting in line to see Nigella”.  Bells then sent me a photo back of her miserable face titled “Me not waiting in line to see Nigella”.  It was pretty funny and yet so sad she wasn’t with me.  Rest assured I kept her well briefed with every moment including the whole 5 minutes Nigella and I breathed the same air!

Here I am only moments away from my first glimpse.

Almost time!

 

And then Nigella emerged.  Just as beautiful as you would expect.  She was just like you see her on television.  The only difference was that I was able to say hello and we smiled and greeted each other.  I only had a moment with her, it was so brief, but she was gracious and signed two books (one for me and one for Bells).  I actually wrote her a card with the words I wanted to say to her.  I knew once in front of her I would lose all my words – so I wrote to thanking her for the inspiration she is.  I’m not sure she will ever read it – but she did take the card – so you never know.  I made sure to put this blog web address as well.

I took a few photos on my mobile.  It was such a rush and you had to be ready to submit your books for signing and then discreetly leave – so I apologize for these shaky, blurry photos.

Nigella being Nigella.

 

Just after my encounter.

 

Look I know this all sounds a little gushy, and probably a little silly – but seriously it was so exciting for me just to see her.  Nigella plays an important role in my cooking life and her philosophy on how to eat speaks to me.

My birthday is on Friday and this was a fabulous early gift to myself.  Many thanks to you Nigella for coming to Sydney and signing my book.

What a day!

Delly

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bells
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 20:02:19

    gush away. it’s warranted. i wish so much I could have been there, just to say hi and to be excited with you.

    I heart Nigella. Cheesy TV shows aside, I really, really love her.

    Reply

  2. Tessa
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 20:15:42

    Oh Adele, how wonderful of you to share such a personal love affair. I totally understand (it was the same with me meeting Roma Waterman *sigh* ) and yes, its all gushiness, silliness, excitement and warm fuzzies all over.

    I truly hope that again, she has inspired you to continue to do something you love (and us too!)
    ❤ ❤ ❤
    T

    Reply

  3. 2paw
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 20:19:53

    Oh how exciting and I think it is a lovely idea to have written her a little note. I am so glad she is herself whether on TV or in person.
    A little brush with fame is always exciting. I once talked to Harry Secombe on the phone, and I went to Peter Cundall’s birthday in the park and I think that is my ‘brush’ limit.

    Reply

  4. RoseRed
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 20:33:46

    How exciting! I wish I could have been there too.
    And I think Nigella is wearing espadrilles! I have those too (heh – bet they are not the same brand though!)

    Reply

  5. Leah
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 20:46:58

    Sounds like a great day – wish she was coming to Canberra too. And your pictures seem to indicate that she really does look like she does on the tv – I don’t know if that’s inspiring or depressing!

    Reply

  6. actinglikeamama
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 21:05:46

    Hehehe RoseRed – her shoes were the first thing I noticed too!! I am one of those people that just don’t get her TV show but I undertstand her books are fantastic. I certainly love the food she cooks! And how stunning is she! So glad you got to meet her Adele, even if it was briefly!

    Reply

    • Bells
      Mar 17, 2011 @ 09:36:12

      these days I prefer her books to her TV shows – always have really – but her shows are, if nothing else, a way to see recipes from the books highlighted when I may have overlooked them.

      Reply

  7. GeekKnitter
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 03:38:45

    Nothing wrong with going all fan-girly! Happy for you, and maybe the tiniest bit jealous!

    Reply

  8. David Hilyard
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 05:51:50

    I know just how you felt! I was thrilled to meet Claudia Roden for the first time … she was working the room at a media thing and she sat at our table for a few minutes and we chatted. Really charming. So good luck to you, and I’m sure she will read your note.

    I don’t get why people bag her – perhaps because she is succesful.

    Reply

  9. drk
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 07:49:11

    your boss is right, what is not to love about nigella. shes just fabulous, and so inspiring on so many levels. im so glad you got this moment with her, and how lovely that you thought to write a card. i think she will read it, and i think it will make her smile. she might be fabulous but im sure she still likes to know how she touches peoples lives. yay for a greate early birthday present!

    Reply

  10. Jodi
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 14:14:00

    So excited about your encounter, Delly. I’d feel the same way about Harper Lee (do you guys read “To Kill a Mockingbird” in Australia?). Anyhow, Nigella is wonderful and your face says it all as you waited in line (by the way, you look every bit of 15 years old). Thanks for sharing, and you are a wonderful sister to get Bells a book, too. Such a shame it couldn’t be “Delly and Bells See Nigella”, but this was the next best thing. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

