For the love….

Hi all!

March has been a busy month for my family.  We celebrate mine and my son’s birthday within a week of each other AND a wedding anniversary in between.  Busy busy busy!  However, as someone who will drop everything and bake at a moments notice – March is a great month for celebratory baking!

No doubt many of you have tried your hand at using fondant over the years.  I must say I have always thought it a bit too fiddly and just for the professionals.  However, after watching one too many episodes of Ace of Cakes , I felt I too could try my hand a sugar creation.

I wanted to stay simple for my first cake using fondant.  So I made my own birthday cake as a test run.  You know, the internet can be a scary thing.  Before I even started to play with the fondant I quickly searched for a good butter cream recipe to layer underneath the fondant as well as some handy tips.  Let me just say there were WAY too many forums discussing the ins and outs of which buttercream recipe to use and whether to use it at all (ganache is also suggested as an alternative).  I started to feel very anxious and finally decided to put the world and it’s over opinionated thoughts on all things icing, and start to decorate my cake.

For my cake I just baked a simple chocolate cake in a heart-shaped tin.  The buttercream was just icing sugar, lots of softened butter, a hint of vanilla extract and a drop of milk (although the milk can be omitted depending on the weather).

After kneading the fondant for a little white, I added some blue colouring and rolled it out.  My goodness it was so simple.  Surely not!  It was supposed to be so much more complicated.  This is what I ended up with.  (Please excuse the overly happy look on my face – I was pretty pleased with my first attempt and sharing it with my little man).

A week later was Willem’s 7th Birthday party and he had requested a Spongebob Squarepants cake.  Keeping in mind I am still a novice, I went simple again.  I bought some Spongebob figurines off Ebay, which would do a lot of the work for me.  A friend from Willem’s school gave me a “no fail – go to” recipe for the cake.  I wanted a cake that would survive quite well over a period of a few days.  This cake is very buttery and moist and stood the test of 3 days very well.  It’s a very easy recipe and I’ll give it to you.

Ingredients:

2 cups SR flour (sifted)

2 cups of castor sugar

4 Tbsp custard powder

4 eggs

1 cup milk

1 Tsp vanilla extract

250g butter, melted

Mix all ingredients together with an electric mixer for 10 minutes.  Pour into an 8″ square / 10″ round lined cake tin (also makes 24 cupcakes).  Bake for 1-2 hours (Check after 1hr – mine was done in 1hr10mins) at 170C (fanforced) or 180C (electric).

This is how it looked.

And how did my son Willem like the cake?  He loved it!  I think the reason I take so much time doing these kinds of things is simply for him.  For me, it’s one of the ways I show my love for him (or for whomever I bake for).  It’s a sign of my regard for the person or the event.  The joy that comes from creating something wonderful and seeing the delight when it’s eaten is worth all the effort.

It’s all for the love… and who could resist baking for a 7 year old this gorgeous!!!

Delly

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bells
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 15:46:51

    It’s been so inspiring watching you do this over the last month! Can’t wait to follow your lead! Such a great photo of willem!

    Reply

  2. chocolatesuze
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 18:12:51

    your cakes are beautiful! and much ❤ to your boy

    Reply

  3. 2paw
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 18:53:55

    What a fabulous job you did, and Willem’s cake is fabulous!! No wonder he looks so happy. I was contemplating a cake recipe with custard powder this morning, I didn’t make, it but I might give this a go!!

    Reply

  4. RoseRed
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 16:30:03

    I have never used fondant and always wondered what buttercream was made of – heh, it’s just icing sugar and butter!! Although probably with more butter than I usually use.

    Happy birthdays to both you and Willem and happy anniversary too!

    I have a special little person’s birthday coming up…might have to try the no-fail cake out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

