Donna Hay: Hot Cross Buns

Have you ever had that overwhelming urge to cook/bake something and nothing is going to stop you?  I found myself starting to obsess about Hot Cross Buns.  I couldn’t get them out of my mind.  They were all I could think about!

When could I make them?  How much time will I need?  If they are lovely and fresh – will it be the right time of day to eat them (is there a wrong time…ever?)

Well last week my lovely husband was home with our son for school holidays and I was slaving away at the office (still am actually…).  I arrived home from work last Tuesday to find that they were still out visiting Hubby’s sick father.  So I had a window of opportunity!!!

Common sense told me to sit down, put my feet up, have a cuppa…hmph… didn’t happen.  My mind and body just went into auto-pilot and started heating the milk for the yeast and lugging my mixer “Ken” over to the bench, ready to create a festive treat.

I used Donna Hay’s recipe for Hot Cross Buns.  You may wonder why I didn’t go straight to Nigella Lawson for her recipe…well I did…but in her recipe there was some suggestion that I may have to leave the mixture overnight to prove…I wasn’t going to wait…I couldn’t…I needed the doughy little wonders right NOW!

Using Ken made the whole process so easy.  Unbelievably easy actually.  Here they are, all risen and ready to pop in the oven.

And they cooked up beautifully.

I was just delighted how they turned out and after taking the above picture I greedily gobbled this one up before anyone could stop me.

One thing I will say about this particular Donna Hay recipe.  I think the dough needed a little salt.  I couldn’t fault the texture and lightness of the mixture – but it needed just a little something extra – and I believe it was a hint of salt.  It just lacked a certain depth which I believe the salt would have given it a little edge.  Or perhaps I am just more addicted to salt than I realise and perhaps they were perfection in every way.

A few days after making them I had about 3 left.  They were getting a little stale.  So I sliced them into thirds (across the middle) and soaked them in a eggy-milk mixture and lightly fried them up.  We drizzled over some maple syrup and they made an amazing eggy bread breakfast.  Lovely.

Have a wonderful Easter season everyone and make sure you try your hand at these beautiful buns.  They are worth the effort.

Delly

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. actinglikeamama
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 16:35:10

    They look delicious! I went through that same obsessive hot cross bun thing last year, made a batch and when they were warm from the oven they were amazing! Sadly, I made heaps, and by the next day, they had lost all their softness, and even a quick heat in the microwave didn’t improve their texture. I should have done something like your fry up – now that sounds delicious!

    Reply

  2. 2paw
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 18:00:02

    They look so lovely, and tasty. I like them toasted when they are not so fresh and in a bread and butter custard!!
    Serendipitously, this week is “H” and so I am king HCB. I have made them before but I am afraid of yeast. I did find some strong flour though!!

    Reply

  3. 2paw
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 18:00:20

    They look so lovely, and tasty. I like them toasted when they are not so fresh and in a bread and butter custard!!
    Serendipitously, this week is “H” and so I making HCB. I have made them before but I am afraid of yeast. I did find some strong flour though!!

    Reply

  4. Clare B
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 19:39:21

    I’ve been searching for a hot cross bun recipe – you can’t buy them in Germany and they are one of my favourite parts of easter. Might have to give this recipe a try, they look great.

    Reply

  5. RoseRed
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 20:08:47

    I know what you mean about *needing* to bake something particular right now! Not for hot cross buns though, I’m just not a big fan. Although really, yours look so good I could be converted. I know they would be great hot out of the oven, isn’t everything!

    Reply

  6. Bells
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 09:02:12

    This is the recipe I’ll use this weekend. You’ve inspired me to do them – i never eat the shop bought ones but my own, yep they’ll be fab. Good work!

    Reply

  7. David Hilyard
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 14:10:31

    They look great! I love a good Hot X Bun. My favourite commercial ones in SYD are from the Vietnamese hot bread shop in Dulwich Hill. Poifect!

    I’ll report back on the HXB situation in Byron.

    Reply

  8. drkknits
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 18:01:06

    apart from the chocolate these are my favourite things about easter. i cant believe you just dashed home and whipped these up, just like that. they look magnificent. happy easter to you and the family!

    Reply

    • Delly
      Apr 20, 2011 @ 08:30:44

      Hi DrK! Nothing was going to stop me from making them and with my kitchen mixer they were whipped up in no time. Happy Ester to you and your puppies!

      Reply

  9. Trackback: Nutkin Socks « Bellsknits

Leave a Reply

