Savoury Pumpkin Pie

Regular readers of our blog would know that I recently made a Chicken Pie.  I love a good pie, but alas, I have not ventured down the pie path very much in my cooking life.  This fact needs to change.

I have my fruit and vegetables delivered and often it’s like pot luck with what appears in my weekly box.  Last week I received a very large pumpkin.  Having made several pumpkin soups of late I was not keen to make another so soon.  So Bells and I started contemplating pumpkin recipes and we got thinking about Pumpkin Pie.  I am more familiar with this pie being a seasonal sweet dish.  I have tasted one once (made by an American friend) and it was delightful.  However, it was made with canned pumpkin, which seems so strange to me.  Why buy it in a can when you can easily cook it fresh?  Perhaps, one of our American readers could enlighten me on this one.

Anyway – I started searching for Pumpkin Pie recipes and came across an Italian recipe.  It had ricotta, fresh breadcrumbs, parmesan and eggs – all the good stuff.  So I gave it a try today.

 

 

In a previous post I mentioned actually reading a recipe properly BEFORE I start cooking.  I was reminded of this as I began thinking through this pie.  The recipe requires you to cook the cubed pumpkin and then allow it to drain for 3-4 hours (or even over night) before mashing the pumpkin (or pushing it through a seive – I didn’t do this – a good potato masher seemed to do the trick).  Draining the moisture from the pumpkin is very important when dealing with the pastry.  You want to keep the pastry crisp and dry – so be careful how you deal with the mixture.  Follow the steps to ensure good results.

I found this pie had lots of flavour.  The eggs kept it in place when cut and the golden breadcrumbs on top added a crunch to the creamy texture of the pumpkin mixture.

You’ll find the recipe here.

I loved also curling over some pastry prior to cooking.  It remined me of a little bowl.  It not only kept all the pumkin contained whilst cooking – but it looked pretty good too.

 

 

 

 

I think this Winter we will see a lot more pies in my kitchen.  Especially now that I am convinced that making your own pastry is not only easy (with the exception of puff pastry), but immensely satisfying to do.  The pastry I used for tonight’s pie was leftover from my chicken pie.  I just froze the leftover pastry and defrosted it this morning.

So do you have a favourite pie dish you would like to share? 

Delly

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bells
    May 28, 2011 @ 22:09:28

    Yum yum yum. I think my big pumpkin just found a purpose!

    Reply

  2. 2paw
    May 28, 2011 @ 22:13:21

    I juts love the combination of pumpkin, ricotta and Parmesan. There is just something wonderful and the flavours go together so well. It makes me want some right now!! I have made a rhubarb tart the same way, I think Mr Oliver calls it ‘rustic’!!

    Reply

  3. Nancy Lauber
    May 29, 2011 @ 01:27:27

    Your recipe sounds really good. Must try it. However, I intend to use canned pumpkin. In the US, even really good cooks rarely use fresh pumpkin. The tastes, when combined with spices, etc., are so similar that I can’t imagine why anyone would want to peel, cube, cook, and sieve (or mash) fresh pumpkins unless you have a garden and grow them–or have one arrive in a food box as you did. I nearly always opt for fresh as opposed to canned–but not in this case!

    Enjoy both your “Food Safari” and Bells’ blog.

    Reply

    • Delly
      May 29, 2011 @ 15:46:25

      Hi Nancy
      Thanks for clarifying the whole “pumpkin in a can” thing for me. I must admit I loathe having to chop up and peel the pumpkin. I can see the canned attraction. As we don’t get it here I will still have to peel and chop, peel and chop….

      Reply

  4. Nancy Lauber
    May 29, 2011 @ 01:28:48

    P.S. Forgot to tell you that I live in a suburb of Atlanta, Georgia, USA.

    Reply

  5. RoseRed
    May 30, 2011 @ 11:03:27

    This looks and sounds great. Will definitely give it a try (since I have TWO whole pumpkins in my fridge right now!). And I need to practice my pastry skills too.

    While I do happily eat canned fruit and some veg (peaches, tomato, corn) I still think I’d prefer fresh pumpkin over canned – although I agree the chopping etc is hard work!

    Reply

  6. drkknits
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 11:57:13

    just so ingenious. i would never have thought of SAVOURY pumpkin pie, hehe. looks delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

