Slow Cooker Poached Quinces

Poached Quinces with Vanilla Yoghurt

I almost gave up on quinces. I was almost prepared to accept that they were the kind of fruit I’d order in restaurants or have when eating quince paste with brie. I’d tried cooking them myself and just had no luck.

The last time I tried them was a number of years ago and i recall I just put them in a little liquid in the oven, with some wine maybe and hoped for the best over a few hours but they didn’t have that lovely soft texture or delicious flavour that baked quinces are supposed to have. I should have researched it more.

Last week I saw some beautiful quinces at the market and thought maybe I’d have another go. Quince lovers rave about them when the season arrives and I was determined to no longer be the person who wistfully longs for a good quince dessert.

By chance I stumbled upon some online recipes that spoke of the wonder of cooking them in the slow cooker. It makes so much sense.  Quinces are such an amazing fruit – to go from the golden but inedible raw fruit that looks like a large apple, to the deep red, jammy fruit you get after hours of cooking is a miracle!

quinces

It didn’t take long to gather together enough information gleaned from a variety of recipes. Most approaches to the slow cooker poaching method were more or less the same, with the only variation really in cooking times. To be safe, I settled on ten hours on low.

Quinces - in sugar syrup

I began by making a sugar syrup from
1 litre of water
1/4 cup of caster sugar
one lemon cut in half
1 vanilla pod (next time I’d split it open. Not sure why I didn’t).

I brought it all to the boil on the stove then tipped the lot into the slow cooker (which had already warmed).

Ten hours later, they were done and I served them with a good quality vanilla yoghurt (the King Island one).

Poached quinces with Vanilla Yoghurt

I served them as dessert for my sister and her family (not Delly, the other sister!) and they were universally enjoyed. The texture was soft and smooth, sweet and warm. They were like eating a spoonful of jam. Just perfect.

Next time I might investigate adding some dessert wine to the liquid. I can imagine that would be heavenly. I think I’ll be doing these a lot while they’re in season.

Bells

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Delly
    May 30, 2011 @ 11:58:05

    What a satisfying experience. So wonderful on these winter evenings. The slow cooker just makes so much sense.

    I’m off to the markets now…

    Reply

  2. RoseRed
    May 30, 2011 @ 14:24:12

    I think I must get a slow cooker. I’ve been resisting (no room for yet another appliance!) but they are so good for winter things. I wouldn’t trust myself to cook them on the stovetop for that long, I would surely burn them. They do sound very good!

    Reply

  3. 2paw
    May 30, 2011 @ 14:31:13

    Of course, slow cooked quinces!! It seems so obvious when you write it!! They look scrumptious.

    Reply

  4. Jodi
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 11:06:58

    I have a slow cooker, but sadly quinces are just not to be had around here. I’ll have to venture over to Whole Foods where unusual treats can often be found. Then I am IN. 🙂

    Reply

  5. drkknits
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 11:55:47

    ive never had quinces, but i really want to do this with pears. looks soooo yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

