Nigella Lawson: Chocolate Mint Cookies

Image

I think I went on a bit of a baking frenzy recently.  You know those moments (or perhaps you don’t), when you start looking at cookbooks and next thing you know you have highlighted several recipes that you absolutely MUST create!  This happens to me from time to time and forces me to glue myself to the kitchen until the moment passes.

 

Usually when this happens I have to look at the calendar to see what events are coming up so that I can share some of my baked goods (this helps me justify excess baking).  Thankfully, my family and I head off to church every Sunday, so I always have somehwere to take my treats – morning tea often features something I have baked.  This is satisfying for all concerned.

 

Recently I baked Nigella’s Chocolate Mint Cookies. These are funny little rock cake like cookies that seem to check all the boxes for a great biscuit.

 

The thing I liked about these biscuits (apart form the fact that they disappeared in seconds) are that they are so easy to make.  They are a no fuss biscuit, packed with chocolatey flavour and a hint of mint.  They come together so quickly and they sit on the biscuit tray in little piles of dough.  They are so unassuming in their yumminess.  The texture also works as there are little choc chips throughout the dough which adds to the little surprise when you take the first bite.

 

Another lovely aspect of these biscuits is the peppermint glaze drizzled over the top of the cooling biscuit.  It’s unexpected.  I loved watching people’s faces as they took the first bite.  The hint of mint is a surprise and very welcome.

 

If you are looking to whip up some biscuits for friends or just needing options for kid’s recess boxes, then these biscuits really work.  I imagine they would freeze well too (although mine never made it that far).  I love baking ahead and having biscuits ready in the freezer for my son.  It makes me feel like such an accomplished parent (I take whatever I can to achieve that).

 

Delly

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bells
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 08:15:51

    they sound delicious! And look it. Chocolate and mint is a winning combination every time, I reckon. Lovely!

    Reply

  2. David Hilyard
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 14:44:51

    Good one – but unlike some people (see H. Gladman above), I DON’T get the choclate – mint combo. Tomatoes – basil, chilli – coriander, stawberries – vanilla — yep. But not chocolate – mint.

    But I do know hte need to cook something QUICK. Chocoalte sometimes helps that feeling to pass.

    Reply

  3. RoseRed
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 17:17:58

    Yum. They look and sound delicious! I don’t normally like to faff around icing biscuits, but I think I could make an exception for these.

    Reply

    • Delly
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 11:11:40

      I’m a bit the same Jane with frosting biscuits. But I too made an exception with these and I believe it was totally worth it. plis, the icing is dead simple and requires very little brain power.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

