Pastry: Brunch Turnovers

Everytime I start to write a blog post I feel I need to apologize for my absence.  But I post when I can and you can be assured that I am continuing in on my baking/eating/thinking about baking/thinking about eating etc… You get the idea.

So I have been thinking about pastry lately and borrowed a book from our local library (yay libraries!!  How good are they??)  The book was a very basic pies and pastries cookbook with quite a lot of instruction on making your own pastry.

My husband, son and I were thinking of going to the Rugby last Saturday night, and rather than buying over-priced garbage from the stadium, I thought I would make some pastries which could be easily eaten without cutlery and also be eaten cool.

So I made these little treasures:

 

 

To make the pastry in a fast and efficient way – you can do the following:

Place a steel blade into your food processor work bowl.  Add 155g plain flour, 1/4 tsp salt, 90g of cold cubed butter.  Process briefly with short bursts of power until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs (a few larger pieces may remain).  With machine running, quickly add 3 T cold water.  Stop the processor very soon after the water is added and the dough comes together.  Remove form the machine and wrap the ball of dough in plastic wrap.  Pop it in the fridge for 1 hour minimum – or overnight.

 

To make the filling, do the following:

Ingredients:

2 T finely chopped spring onion

1 T marg or butter

1 beaten egg

125g shredded cheese

155g finely chopped ham

2 tsp chopped fresh dill

1 tsp minced garlic

Milk

 

Method

Prepare pastry as directed.  When you are ready, remove the dough from the fridge and roll the dough into 37.5 x 25cm rectangle.  Cut into 13cm squares.  Cover dough with plastic wrap and set aside while preparing filling.

In a small bowl combine all ingredients.  Divide evenly between each square being careful to put the filling on only one half of the square (you will need to fold the top over and pinch the pastry).

Moisten the edges of the pastry with a little water.  Fold each square of pastry in half, sealing edges well by pressing with a fork.  Place on a baking tray with baking paper.  Prick the tops and lightly brush with milk.

Bake in preheated oven (190degrees) for about 30 minutes or until golden.  Let stand for 10 minutes before serving.

 

 

 

I have to say my new favourite herb is Dill.  The subtle flavour mix with the cheese and ham is just amazing.  My family and I just loved these.  The pastry was tasty and flaky, the mixture inside the turnover was moist and flavoursome.

 

Alas, I did forget to add the milk wash on top of the pastry before baking, so I felt this made the pastry a little dry.  So I would try not to forget that step next time.  But otherwise, these little flavour-packed pillows are worth a try.  The pastry was not at all daunting to make.  I had it whipped up in the food processor in about 8 minutes.  I also made the pastry ahead of time, which made me feel terribly organised and sucessfully domestic!

I hope you will give them a try.

Delly

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bells
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 12:44:52

    “flavour packed pillows” – we should start calling you Nigella! Love it.

    These are such a great idea. I hate eating stadium food at events too. Mostly. Chips are good. This just makes so much sense. Good picnic food too. Maybe for lunches?

    Reply

  2. Dianne King
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 13:21:50

    Those look delicious! I’m definitely going to give them a try…

    Reply

  3. David Hilyard
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 15:18:33

    Move over, Nigella. Only room for one Domeatic Goddess.

    Reply

  4. RoseRed
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 16:04:02

    I rarely go to events at stadiums, but the food there generally is Not Good. This is a great idea for good “travelling” food that is more interesting than a sandwich. I bet they would freeze well too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

