Roasted Capsicum, Chorizo and Zucchini Linguine

On the weekend when we found capsicums on sale (in the dead of winter, go figure) my husband bought a bag of them for roasting. He loves when I make roasted capsicum pasta sauce.

So do I.

Tonight I made it in the following way.

20120619-191817.jpg

After roasting and peeling six red capsicums on the weekend, I skinned four fresh chorizo (the raw ones, not the cured ones although they’d be fine too – they’d just need to be sliced and fried).

I diced a zucchini finely and added it to the chorizo meat which had been cooking in the pot.

Once it was all cooked through, I added a tablespoon of tomato paste and a tin of diced tomatoes.

Once that was all warned through I let it all simmer for 20 mins or so.

While the pasta was cooking, I shredded a bunch of basil and added it to the sauce just before serving.

Seasoned with salt, pepper and a splash of sweet balsamic vinegar, it needed only some Parmesan to finish it off.

It was delicious.

Bells (who has not blogged here for months!)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trish
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 20:59:28

    Worth a blog! Mmmmm.
    I have to leave out all meat as husband vegan. But roasted capiscum pasta is a good idea for tonight.

    Reply

  2. RoseRed
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 21:09:52

    Looks great – although I am biased, anything with chorizo is bound to be a winner!

    So when do you put the capsicum in? with the chorizo, or the tomatoes, or right at the end? And do you chop them finely or what? I have only roasted them once, so am not very familiar!

    Reply

    • Bells
      Jun 19, 2012 @ 21:14:32

      Sorry I wasn’t very clear. I puréed the capsicums after I peeled them. Removed the seeds and skin and then puréed with the stick blender.

      After the zucchini and sausage are cooked, I added the tomato paste and then the tinned tomatoes, stirred them through then added the puréed capsicum. Let it simmer for a while,then done! Just add the shredded basil near the end!

      Sent from my iPad

      Reply

  3. David Hilyard
    Jun 19, 2012 @ 22:02:00

    Sounds great. Don’t know uncured chorizo.

    Reply

  4. Adele
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 09:59:48

    Hey. So glad you blogged. Great easy recipe too! We must blog more often!!!

    Reply

  5. Yvette
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 06:35:51

    Wonderful combo of ingredients…love a pasta dish! Yx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

