Malta: Puddina

I was flicking through my Food Safari cookbook the other day looking for inspiration.  I’ve mentioned before I get itchy to bake, and this day was no exception.  I turned to the pages on Maltese food.  My son’s best mate is Maltese, so I thought it only fitting I try my hand at Maltese cooking (doesn’t everyone do this?)  I found a great recipe for using up stale bread.  Puddina!

 

The recipe calls for day old bread or bread rolls etc.  Also mixed fruit, sugar, eggs etc.  My husband and I are not at all keen on candied peel.  In fact, I think it should be banned.  It ruins perfectly good food.  Yuk!  So instead of buying chopped mixed fruit I bought various dried fruits and chopped them up myself to ensure no candied peel crept into my Puddina.  I also added sultana’s into the mix.

 

This pudding is not really what you would define as a pudding.  Although, I imagine heating it and eating it with a bowl of warmed custard would be divine (note to self: do this tonight).  It’s a really moist cake that can be eaten anytime.  Morning tea, afternoon tea, midnight snack … anytime.  With all that dried fruit and almonds I like to think it’s a healthy option for a snack…maybe.

 

 

Because you use a whole loaf of bread it yields a massive cake.  But I don’t think you will find this is a problem.

 

 

 

 

You might be able to see from the above picture a little bit of bread.  I think it should probably be all mixed in and the actual bread should be unidentifiable.  But this was my first attempt and it didn’t make any difference to the overall taste in my opinion.

 

So I bravely decided to give a large portion to my Maltese friends.  Of course I doubt it was like Grandma used to make but I handed it over anyway.  Thankfully they were really pleased to receive it and they loved it!  Success!

 

Delly

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bells
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 17:59:30

    Wow look at that! I’m kicki myself I didn’t manage to get all the ingredients for is yesterday. Soon. And I reckon I’ll chop up dried fruit too – more control over the ingredients!

    Reply

  2. David Hilyard
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 06:44:33

    Sounds great, Adele. I got fat just reading this.

    But you wrong on dried peel! I luv it …

    Reply

  3. Bells
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 21:20:46

    i love it too, David. I don’t get the hate!

    Reply

  4. rosered
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 12:41:52

    Wow, a whole loaf of bread! I often have old bread to use, but not usually a whole loaf!must get the recipe out and see if I can easily halve it.

    Reply

  5. Paul
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 13:32:07

    Loved it with or without custard. Paul, hubby

    Reply

Leave a Reply

