Breakfast Cinnamon Rolls

It was my birthday a few days ago and I decided this year I was not going to bake my own birthday cake.  I’ve done this before and enjoyed the experience, but this year it was not going to happen.

However, there has been a recipe that has been teasing me for quite a while and it’s been wooing me to make it.  So I thought what better time than my birthday to bake something purely for me.  So I hit the kitchen to make my Birthday Cinnamon Rolls – to be enjoyed at breakfast with my husband and son.

The recipe suggests using a mixer with a dough hook or a large mixing bowl to do by hand.  I decided it was a good opportunity to use my bread maker and use the “dough” setting.  This required me to throw all the ingredients, set it to “dough” and walk away.  However, the recipe below will instruct you with the slightly longer way to do it.

Cinnamon Rolls

Dough

1 cup lukewarm milk

2 large eggs, room temp

1/3 cup butter, cut into cubes (I made sure it was slighty softened)

4 1/2 cups plain flour

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup sugar

7g packet rapid rise yeast

Filling

1/3cup butter, softened

1 cup brown sugar

3 tablespoons ground cinnamon

Icing

1 1/2 cups icing sugar

1 tablespoon maple syrup or flavouring

1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted

2 Tablespoons (or more) milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

For the dough: mix all the ingredients in a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer until mixture comes together.

Either knead the dough by hand for 5-8 minutes or until smooth; or using the dough hook in a stand mixer knead for 4-7 minutes at medium speed.

Put the dough in a lightly oiled bowl, cover with plastic wrap and place somewhere warm for about 60 minutes or until it has doubled in size.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, mix the filling ingredients together.  (I found popping the mixture in the microwave for 30 seconds helped the mixture be a more spreadable consistency).

Take the dough out of the bowl and punch it down.  Roll the dough out on a lightly floured surface into a 40cm x 50cm rectangle.  Leaving a 2.5cm border at one end of the short ends, spread the dough evenly with the filling.

Starting at the opposite end from the border with no filling, roll the dough into a log shape and pinch the seam to seal.  Cut into 12 equal size rolls and place cut side up ina rectangluar greased baking pan.

Cover and refridgerate overnight.

The next morning, remove the cinnamon rolls from the fridge and let sit on the counter for about 60 minutes.  Preheat the oven to 190c.  Bake for 20 minutes, or until browned.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, whisk together with icing.  If it’s too stiff add more milk until runnier.

When rolls are golden, remove form oven, allow to cool for 10-15minutes.  Pour glaze over the cinnamon rolls.  Serve warm.

 

 

These rolls were not too sweet to be enjoyed in the morning.  It was fabulous knowing they were sitting in my fridige overnight all ready to go when I arose.  Most of the work had already been done.  All I needed to do was pop out to the kitchen an hour or so before I wanted to put them in the oven and it would be not be too long before they were ready to enjoy.

 

We all enjoyed them the next day as well.  Thirty seconds in the microwave on high and they were soft and warm again – ready to eat.

 

These rolls were a lovely way to celebrate my birthday with my boys.

Delly

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bells
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 12:05:51

    If eating these is half as lovely as looking at them, then they must be gorgeous. Want!!

    Reply

  2. roseredshoes
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 21:17:29

    These look delicious. What a great way to treat yourself on your birthday.

    Reply

Leave a comment